Webinars

Government Prayer After Town of Greece 

More information here

Register for this FREE webinar here

Washington Post Article Discusses SLLC Brief

Read about the SLLC's novel argument in Wood v. Moss

National Law Journal Article about the SLLC

Center Advocates for State and Local Governments discusses the SLLC’s mission, history, current amicus activity

SLLC February 2014 Newsletter

Find out what's new at the SLLC here

About Us

The SLLC files amicus curiae briefs in support of States and local governments in the U.S. Supreme Court, conducts moot courts for attorneys arguing before the Supreme Court, and provides other assistance to States and local governments in connection with Supreme Court litigation.  Since 1983 the SLLC has filed over 300 amicus briefs in the Supreme Court.

The Big Seven national organizations representing state and local elected and appointed officials are members of the SLLC.  Members include: the Council of State Governments, the International City/County Management Association, the National Governors Association, the National Association of Counties, the National Conference of State Legislatures, the National League of Cities, and the United States Conference of Mayors.

The International Municipal Lawyers Association and the Government Finance Officers Association are associate members of the SLLC. 

Bill Pound, Executive Director of the National Conference of State Legislatures, is the current SLLC Board Chair.

The Staff Advisory Council, made up of representatives of members and associate members, recommends and votes on participation in cases and provides guidance and support to the Executive Director on programmatic and management matters.

National Governors Association
David Quam – dquam@nga.org 
David Parkhusrt – dparkhurst@nga.org

National Conference of State Legislatures
Susan Parnas Frederick – susan.frederick@ncsl.org

Council of State Governments

National League of Cities
Carolyn Coleman – Coleman@nlc.org

National Association of Counties
Michael Belarmino – mbelarmino@naco.org

International City/County Management Association
Elizabeth Kellar – ekellar@ICMA.org

U.S. Conference of Mayors
Larry Jones – ljones@usmayors.org

International Municipal Lawyers Association 
Chuck Thompson – cthompson@imla.org

Goverment Finance Officers Association
Barrie Tabin Berger – btberger@gfoa.org

 

Lisa Soronen is the Executive Director of the SLLC.  Prior to joining the SLLC, Lisa worked for the National School Boards Association, the Wisconsin Association of School Boards, and clerked for the Wisconsin Court of Appeals. She earned her J.D. at the University of Wisconsin Law School and is a graduate of Central Michigan University.   

Contact Lisa at lsoronen@sso.org or (202) 434 – 4845.